O.I.T.A.F. - International Organization for Transportation by Rope


At the time, O.I.T.A.F. has 6 committees and two works groups (variable number depending on necessity) which meet regularly. These committees deal with current technical, administrative, legal and economic topics of the ropeway business. The following committees exist:

COMMITTEE No. I: Technique of ropeway and technical recommendations

Chairman: Gaëtan Rioult (F)

1461 rue de la Piscine
Email: gaetan.rioult@developpement-durable.gouv.fr
Tel. ++ 033-04-76637878




Expert Committee I currently is made up of ropeway experts from 7 European countries (AT, IT, FR, DE, ES, CH, SL) with a well-balanced representation of public authorities, operators and manufacturers.

In this committee are integrated the following

WORK GROUP: Non-public ropeways: Material transport ropeways and cable cranes

Head of the work group:  Dott. Eng. Pier Giorgio Graziano

Corso Galileo Ferraris 164
I - 10134 TORINO
Tel: 0039-348-2689781


Scope of duty:

The last revision and integration of the text of the recommendations of the notebook 8 was completed in 2016, resulting in the current version of the recommendation (Book 8-2).

It should be noted that the working group had in previous years carried out the complete revision and re-elaboration of the pre-existing recommendations for the construction and operation of monocable and bicâbles aerial ropeways for material transport and cable cranes (Previous book n ° 8), publishing the 2006 version, subsequently revised and integrated in the 2010 and 2013 editions. The 2006 work had integrated the previous book with the new recommendations for the construction and operation of temporary cableways (with the exception of those for the exclusive transport of timber) and of inclined planes for the transport of material. In the group's work, however, have been exluded the recommendations, already approved by the O.I.T.A.F., for to and fro bicâbles ropeways for the transport of material up to a mass of 2000 kg.

Composition of the group:

The working group is currently composed of a dozen technical experts from 6 European countries (A, D, CH, P, F, I); it is a balanced presence of representatives of the technical surveillance authorities, exhibitors and builders.

The group's work will continue over the next years to check the correct interpretation and application of the recommendation and monitor any need for further additions based on the user experience


WORK GROUP: Non-public ropeways: Transportation of people and goods with reversible aerial ropeways

Head of the work group: Christian Kaizler

Amt der Vorarlberger Landesregierung
Abt VIc-FB
Elektro- und Seilbahntechnik
Römerstrasse 15

A - 6900 BREGENZ
Tel. 0043 5574 511 26512

Scope of duty:

After completing Book 11-1, the Working Group has suspended its work until the Management Committee assigns further tasks to it.

COMMITTEE No. II: Characteristic and inspection of ropes

Chairman: Sven Winter (D)

Allmersbacher Str. 50
D-71546 Aspach
mobil: +49 15224097462
Internet: www.ro-tec.net

Scope of duties:

Composision of the work committee
Currently the work committee is composed of 20 technical experts of ropeway installations who have been selected with regard to a balances representation of concerned technical supervisory authorities, ropeway operators, notified bodies and rope manufacturers of 7 European countries.

COMMITTEE No. III: Electrical components respectively modules in ropeway installation

Chairman: Erich Megert (CH)


Tel   +41 41 875 07 11
Fax  +41 44 875 07 12

Scope of duties:

Expert Committee III engages in a continuous exchange of information and experiences on the electrical equipment used in ropeways and, if necessary, draws up recommendations for O.I.T.A.F. or other expert committees.

The main topics covered are:


Expert Committee III currently has around 20 members from five European countries. A well-balanced mix of operators, public authorities, inspection bodies and manufacturers is ensured as far as possible.

COMMITTEE No. IV: Legal, administrative, economic and statistical matters

Chairman: Mag. Jörg Schröttner (A)

Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie
Sektion IV
Abt. Sch 3 - Seilbahnen u. Schlepplifte
Radetzkystr. 2

A-1030 WIEN
Email: joerg.schroettner@bmvit.gv.at

Present scope of duties:

In total, 25 ropeway experts from 5 European countries work in this group presently. Equally represented by authorities, operators and manufacturers.

COMMITTEE No. VI: Optimization of operation of ropeway systems

Chairman: Eng. Mauro Joyeusaz (I)

Expert Committee VI currently has a total of 16 members from seven countries with a well-balanced representation of technical supervisory authorities, operators and manufacturers.


Chairman of the committee

Dr. Gunther Suette
Schulstrasse 5,

mobile +43 (0)650 9002373
mailto: tb.suette@gmx.at

Scope of duties:

Actuellement, la commission se compose de
16 experts provenant de 6 pays (2 AU, 2 CH, 1 DE, 2 ES, 2 FR, 3 IT) dont 2 représentent les autorités de surveillance, 7 les exploitants et constructeurs, 1 la recherche universitaire, 2 les groupes d’intérêt et 4 les bureaux d’études.